The Tongue Is A Weapon-Whose Army Are You Fighting In?

It appears I lost my welcome posts – For now – Here is the first Friday devotional . . . Blessings!

The Tongue IS A Weapon –
Whose Army Are You Fighting In?

Be Ye Friend or Foe . . . In whose army are you fighting? In whose army do you daily take a stand? Who are you wining battles for – Satan or The Lord God Almighty? WHO are YOU standing toe to toe with – doing battle? Our battles are not of this world and we do not fight against flesh and blood . . . We fight, we stand, we fall . . . on one side or the other . . . with every word uttered . . . with every action. We will stand one day and give account of every idle word. We will account for the tone we use when we deliver those words for tone is also spewed forth by the tongue.

It is not you that you are fighting for with your words. It is not that other person with whom you are actually engaged. It is instead something we know not of that we are warring with. It is something deeper. A wise man speaks little and listens much.

It is an unalterable fact that every move we make, every word we speak stands in the history of this eternal spiritual battle as ground taken for Satan or for the Lord. It stands until the final day . . . the final day when the Lord’s Army wins the war . . . until the final day when we . . . saved or not . . . will give an account for every idle word. So . . . are those jokes with that little twist of cutting truth funny? Are the unkind things we say in a passing moment of “me-ness” that scar someone – sometimes for life really . . . “not that big of a deal?” Oh, my friend, beloved of God, take heed and listen. Hear the word of God and respond. Respond before it is too late to heal the damage. Respond before one you love runs for safety from your words to the other side where Satan will whisper momentary lies and false comfort. Understand . . . hurry, before even one more battle goes down in history, never to be rewritten . . . the power of your words.

Our battle is NOT with the people on this earth. Our battle is not over who hurt our feelings and how to protect ourselves and how to have the most power over others. Our battle is to become able to love more . . . to love like Jesus did. It is to learn how to stand back and
let someone else have. It is in learning who we can serve in action and with the words we speak. Who’s side are you on?

I have been slashed, cut, stabbed, whipped and beaten with the tongue. I have, also, been held up, nourished and loved with precious, sweet words spoken from a kind soul’s heart. My life has been changed by both and I have done both.

Will I speak with sarcasm and “ jokes”? Will I use my tongue for course jesting and think nothing of it . . . for after all . . . “Didn’t people laugh”? Will I criticize and cut to the quick . . . put people in their place? Speak to someone in a harsh tone to punish for a perceived . . . or even real . . . injury to ME.

If The Word is God (Jesus) and we are made in His image and He was the first fruit . . . we are likened unto Him . . . (albeit a mere shadow) and He spoke creation into existence and will speak judgment in the end. Then . . . what power must lie in the spoken word. In fact, the Bible says that in our words are the power of life and death. What do you suppose it means?

The Bible says none can tame it – it holds power like that of a small rudder . . . able to turn a ship. Power that in an instant turned loose changes the course of a young soul’s spirit or a relationship forever. Power that helps lead someone to or away from eternal salvation.

And what about the power unleashed as we use it to praise the Lord, God of Heaven. Somehow it is released in the spiritual realm when we praise God. Yes . . . the words we speak hold great power . . . power to bless our children, our spouses . . . and strangers . . . power to change things.

Let us think . . . If salt water and fresh water can not flow from the same spring . . . then what are my words saying about who I am – Shall I praise God in song and worship at church and curse and gossip or hurt those whom God loves during the week? What implication does that have for my soul and in this spiritual battle?

Laughter from the heart, springing forth from the mouth expels the contents of the heart. WHAT DO YOU LAUGH AT? What do you find “funny”? Dirty jokes, sarcastic cut downs that hurt someone? Someone not dressed as “well” as you? Do you laugh at “stupidity” . . . at those not as “smart” as you? Do you verbally dismiss those who haven’t “done what you’ve done (career wise, financially, as an athlete or intellectually)?

Do you look for words that bless? Do you then BLESS with them? We are commanded to speak only words that uplift and edify. Do we have a desire to “draw people together” . . . our circle . . . with just this little tidbit of “information.” You know . . . the one that trashes a hurting soul and makes us feel better than the person we are talking about . . . all five of us . . . who become 15 who become 46 . . . ?

Your tongue . . . Your weapon . . . How will you use it?

By the way . . . Who are you?

John 1:1- 4 In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. He was in the beginning with God. All things were made through Him, and without Him nothing was made that was made. In Him was life, and the life was the light of men.

Ephesians 6:12 & 13 For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this age, against spiritual hosts of wickedness in the heavenly places. Therefore take up the whole armor of God, that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand.

Ephesians 5:3, 4 But fornication and all uncleanness or covetousness, let it not even be named among you, as is fitting for saints; neither filthiness, nor foolish talking, nor coarse jesting, which are not fitting, but rather giving of thanks.

James 3:3-6 Indeed, we put bits in horses’ mouths that they may obey us, and we turn their whole body. Look also at ships: although they are so large and are driven by fierce winds, they are turned by a very small rudder wherever the pilot desires. Even so the tongue is a little member and boasts great things. See how great a forest a little fire kindles! And the tongue is a fire, a world of iniquity. The tongue is so set among our members that it defiles the whole body, and sets on fire the course of nature; and it is set on fire by hell.

Luke 6:45 A good man out of the good treasure of his heart brings forth good; and an evil man out of the evil treasure of his heart brings forth evil. For out of the abundance of the heart his mouth speaks.

James 3:9-12 With it we bless our God and Father, and with it we curse men, who have been made in the similitude of God. Out of the same mouth proceed blessing and cursing. My brethren, these things ought not to be so. Does a spring send forth fresh water and bitter from the same opening? Can a fig tree, my brethren, bear olives, or a grapevine bear figs? Thus no spring yields both salt water and fresh.

Proverbs 18:21 Death and life are in the power of the tongue, And those who love it will eat its fruit.

Matthew 12:36 But I say to you that for every idle word men may speak, they will give account of it in the day of judgment.

Revelation 19:13-16 He was clothed with a robe dipped in blood, and His name is called The Word of God. And the armies in heaven, clothed in fine linen, white and clean, followed Him on white horses. Now out of His mouth goes a sharp sword, that with it He should strike the nations. And He Himself will rule them with a rod of iron. He Himself treads the winepress of the fierceness and wrath of Almighty God. And He has on His robe and on His thigh a name written: KING OF KINGS AND LORD OF LORDS.

Lord, Father in Heaven, Creator of the universe. God, in whom in move and breathe and have my being . . . I thank you for the use of speech and for the way it allows me to communicate to others what is inside of me. I thank you for the way words allow me to create relationship and closeness to those I love. I thank you for the way words allow me to hear and know what others are thinking and feeling. Lord I praise you for the gift of speech and it’s thousands of uses in my life. Please, Lord, teach me how to use this gift as you would have me use it. Teach me to speak only words that uplift others and that honor you. Holy Spirit speak through me – Let me become a vessel that is empty of “me” and full of You. I confess the ways I have misused my tongue (list specifically how you may have sinned in this way.) Give me understanding about how my words have hurt (list their names) and how to make it right. Please, take the sting of what I said away and heal their heart. Reveal to me what I can not see that I have done with my tongue. Give me empathy to understand and eyes to see how my speech needs to change. Father, create a pure and a clean heart in me so that when others hear what I say – they know that my heart belongs to you. Praise, be to you, Father . . . forever. In the name of your Son, Jesus . . . I bring my prayer to you and lay my weakness at your throne. Amen.

Practical Application

1. How many times did my words
cut or “bite” someone today?
____________________________
____________________________

2. How many times did I tell or
laugh at a dirty joke?
_____________________________
_____________________________

3. How many times did I use
course language (curse or tell
a dirty or “questionable” joke)?
____________________________
____________________________

4. How many times did I gossip
about someone?
____________________________
____________________________

5. How many times did I use my
tongue in a tone that hurt
someone based on how I felt?
____________________________
____________________________

6. How many times did I make fun
of someone?
____________________________
____________________________

7. How many times did I criticize
someone?
____________________________
____________________________

8. How many times was I arrogant
in my heart and attitude and
allowed it to be reflected with my
words?
____________________________
____________________________

9. How many times did I deem
someone stupid or “in my way”?
____________________________
____________________________

10. How many times did I justify
the above sinful use of my tongue?
____________________________
_____________________________

To use this – Put a mark each time you do any of the above, like the old fashioned four marks and a diagonal slash through on the fifth offense. Print and cut this off and carry in your pocket so you can mark it when you cross the line.

At the end of the day . . . Take an inventory and see what kind of an account you will give before the Lord on the day of judgment.

If repentance is in order . . . confess what you said and/or how you said it to the Lord and to the person you spoke sinfully to. Ask for forgiveness and perhaps ask them to help hold you accountable in the future, promising not to attack back or retaliate . . . but instead to receive their instruction (even if they are not correct in their assessment.) No defensiveness allowed – only a humble heart that seeks to become more Holy.

4 Comments »

  1. Michelle Said:

    Hey Cindy,
    Thanks for sharing these thoughts, and the verses too. This is something that I struggle with and I am working on it. I appreciate how you are following God’s calling for your life right now. Thanks for taking us all along with you.

    God’s Blessings- Michelle

    • cindylynne Said:

      Michelle,

      Thank you for your comments . . . We all struggle with the tongue. (For who can tame it – he would be a perfect man –
      James 3:1-12) I so hope we can get there though!

      Thank you for “coming along with me” – it is so encouraging –
      sometimes I feel very alone on this journey, but I love that we have the technology we have today and can “catch up” and stay in touch!

      Stopped just now and said a prayer for you –

      May God touch you in a special way today, Michelle!

      Praising Him . . . Cindy

  2. Chuck Davis Said:

    Hey Cindy : I read your devotionals. A lot of deep thoughts in there. I,ve been on both sides of a good and bad tongue. God says that He will forgive me for my sins with the acceptance of His son. I only hope that all the others that I have hurt can do the same. The material things in this world all seem worthless unless you can share them with others. The happiest people I,ve met like to share the most.
    With Gods blessings I hope to be one of these people.
    Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    Love your friend Chuck

    • cindylynne Said:

      Hey Chuck . . . Sorry for delay in reply – I was spending time with Ryan and somewhat sidetracked – then stopped in KY for a couple days to see my nephew . . . but “Amen” to your comments . . . the tongue is a hard one to tame. Anyway, hope you (and Chris) are doing well! Be blessed today in the Lord!!! Luv . . . .Cindy


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

