JESUS AND . . . WHAT . . . DO YOU NEED?

Doing Today . . . GOD’S Way!
Weekly Bible Study Series by Cindy Lynne

What do I need to be happy I say . . . to be happy . . . to be?

Oh, happy I pray!

I need Jesus you see and that’s all I declare!

But, as I lay awake on cold, long, empty nights . . .

“If only . . ,” I think. If only I might . . .

have this one other thing, I’d be happy in Him.

Whole I would be, yes, completed you see.

I would know then He’s real.

Yes, I’d know that He loves us and cares and is near.

I’d know then He does, in fact, answer prayer.

There’s just one other thing . . . or two . . . that I need.

I need them and then I’ll be filled indeed.

Yes, THEN it would be Jesus and me!

My husband, my children, my friends shall remain . . .

my home and security, health, wealth and fame . . .

and surely. . . of course (!) There will be no pain for THAT is MY claim!

It is heaven here . . . NOW . . . for which I search.

No waiting for me. No sadness on earth . . . for it’s Jesus I serve!

Ummmm …

But . . . I thought there’d be health or children or wealth.

Love I would claim and there’d be no pain,

if I chose in this life to take Jesus with me.

I thought He’d say yes when my heart had a fear or at least He’d say yes if I cried many tears.

He’d fix it for sure if I lived for Thee here . . . but what?!

This is not what I planned from the start.

This life that I’m living as Jesus and me.

I find now instead, I must cry . . . I must die . . .

My life’s not my own? You mean . . . ALL to thee?

Is it really . . . I cry only JUST . . . You and I?

It is ONLY for You that I live and I die?

Did you mean that for real?

Did you mean that for me?

I knew it would always be Jesus and me . . .

But somehow, somewhere I’d find more; you see . . .

more I thought . . . than just Jesus and me.

I thought there’d be others who loved me as He

and THEN it would ALSO be Jesus and me!

Why aren’t they supplying my wants and my needs?

I married for me. They’re refusing my pleas.

Where is that child I knew I would birth . . . the one that you promised, I thought, when You said you “There’s life more abundant . . .” Surely, children on earth.

Where is my lost loved one through death or divorce . . . who was to be there with me through all of the worst?

Where is my health that I may live without pain? Why haven’t I healed when I’ve prayed and prayed?

Where’s my help from above when I can’t overcome? My life is in pain, I’m cast out . . . maimed and blamed.

Where is my home, my security now . . . my money is gone and I don’t see how . . . I can live in the peace that you promised me then . . .

when I said “I say Yes! In Jesus, I trust!

You’re all that I need. Yes, Jesus, indeed!

When I’m lonely, alone, tired, scared and afraid.

When I’m sad and in pain and have lost and “been there.”

When my dreams have not come as I just knew they would.

When I’m old and not pretty and my best days are gone.

Or when I have it “all,” and find “all” is not “that.”

Bring it here; bring it back for I’m missing the best!

It’s not fair! It’s not right! It’s not what I ask!

It’s not what I thought when I read what you wrote!

You loved me and walked with me . . . saved me, I know . . . But that’s not quite enough.

Why, there surely is more!

I guess, if I’m honest with self I would ask “What else does it take . . .

for I don’t find enough . . .

I guess I must ask “It’s Jesus and what”?

Jesus and what makes me happy and free?

Safe, sound and secure where I rest in His peace?

If it only must be – just Jesus and me . . .

what must I lay down at the throne, at His feet,

in order to make my commitment complete?

What is it, I cry, that it means when I say

“I now will choose Jesus . . . Does it mean truly “die?”

Finally, I offer the truth to myself.

So be it, I then cry! I see now how to die.

It’s ALL about Him. It’s all about them.

So . . . I give, I surrender and now I will do

what it is that you said all along to be true.

I will die to it all, so one day I may fly . . .

I’ll fly through the sky and there will I live . . .

in glory, in heaven . . . forever . . . with Him!

Yes . . . Jesus and me forever . . . AMEN!

_______________________________________________

Matthew 16:24-25 Then Jesus said to His disciples, If anyone desires to be My disciple, let him deny himself [disregard, lose sight of, and forget himself and his own interests] and take up his cross and follow Me [cleave steadfastly to Me, conform wholly to My example in living and, if need be, in dying, also]. For whoever is bent on saving his [temporal] life [his comfort and security here] shall lose it [eternal life]; and whoever loses his life [his comfort and security here] for My sake shall find it [life everlasting]. (Amplified Version)

Luke 9:22-24 Then Jesus said to all the people: If any of you want to be my followers, you must forget about yourself. You must take up your cross each day and follow me. If you want to save your life, you will destroy it. But if you give up your life for me, you will save it. (CEV)

Luke 14:26 You cannot be my disciple, unless you love me more than you love your father and mother, your wife and children, and your brothers and sisters. You cannot come with me unless you love me more than you love your own life. (CEV) ____________________________________________________________________
Prayer:

Jesus, Father . . . Holy Spirit . . . Come. Be with me now. I invite you here. Holy are you and to be praised. Blessed is your name. Lord, I need you. I need you more. I long to rest in your presence, in your peace and be filled with the joy you tell me about. Teach me how to live . . . Just You and me. Complete. Fulfilled. Present. Waiting. Sharing. Being. Be with me now. Let me hear you, let me touch you, let me taste you – fill me with your holiness. Reveal to me what you want me to see. Fill me with your presence I wait now to hear from you. (Be still now and KNOW that He is God – meditate on His words and listen for His voice – When done . . .) In your name, I bow before you . . . my Lord and My King. My Savior. Go with me now . . . all day, every minute . . . Amen. ________________________________________________

Practical Application:

1. Is there anything that is keeping you from being happy in Jesus? Is there anything that you need to release to Him? Let the Holy Spirit guide you as you ask Him to reveal what it is that is keeping you bound up and unable to move forward in peace and joy . . . trusting only in the One who has the power to set you free . . . now and forever. Write Him a letter.
_________________________________________________________________

Leave a Reply

